Assessment Committee

Assessment Committee Plans

Assessment Committee Reporting

Annual Report to Senate

The assessment committee is a joint committee of Academic Senate and Academic Affairs. Academic Senate committees prepare an annual report summarizing committee activities and important developments of the previous academic year. The assessment committee submits their annual report for the agenda of the first senate meeting in the fall. This report is also submitted to academic affairs.

Link to the following reports:

  • 2017-2018
  • 2016-2017
  • 2015-2016
  • 2014-2015
  • 2013-2014
  • 2012-2013
  • 2011-2012

Summary Reports

Link to Annual Summary Reports

  • 2018-2019
  • 2017-2018
  • 2016-2017
  • 2015-2016
  • 2014-2015

Monthly Meeting Minutes

Link to Monthly Meeting Minutes

  • 04/10/2019
  • 05/2019
  • 02/2019
  • 11/05/2018
  • 04/13/2018
  • 02/18/2018
  • 01/12/2018
  • 04/14/2017
  • 03/10/2017
  • 02/10/2017
2016 and earlier

Assessment Committee Grants

If you have an idea for a great assessment project or tool you would like to try, the assessment committee encourages you to apply for an assessment grant. These grants, for up to $3000, can be used for a wide variety of projects.

Deadline has been moved to April 15, 2020

Assessment Committee Membership

The Committee is responsible for promoting and supporting the continuing development of assessment efforts at IU South Bend. The Committee is also responsible for advising the Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs, who maintains primary administrative responsibility for IU South Bend assessment efforts. The Committee oversees and coordinates assessment activities by collecting annual assessment data from individual units, conducting periodic assessment reviews of units and of general education, and awarding assessment grants.

Constitution of the Academic Senate Article VII, Section 7-P

  • Anthony Randles | School of Education 
  • Susan Thomas | Franklin D. Schurz Library 
  • David Tobey | Judd Leighton School of Business and Economics
  • Rebecca Zellers | Vera Z. Dwyer College of Health Sciences
  • Lisa Zwicker | College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Kathy Ritchie | College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (Convener)
  • Two others TBD

  • Yu Song | Assessment Coordinator (ex-officio)
  • Xiaoxu Shan | Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness (ex-officio)
  • TBD | Co-curricular areas; from recommendations by the Chancellor or Vice Chancellor of Student Engagement)